The 8 Stages of Yoga Nidra Explained


hile many are familiar with the benefits of meditation, there is a lesser-known practice that can be just as transformative for mental and emotional well-being. This practice is called yoga nidra and it operates in the enigmatic realm between the conscious and dream states.

Like meditation, yoga nidra aims to induce deep relaxation and inner peace, but takes it a step further by requiring an eight-stage approach for maximum benefits. Known as yogic sleepyoga nidra aims to achieve a state of conscious dreaming without the actual dreams. By mastering the eight stages of yoga nidra, one can experience profound and life-affirming relaxation.

What Is Yoga Nidra?

Yoga nidra is a relaxation practice that is believed to date back thousands of years, as old as the ancient art of yoga. The term “yoga nidra” comes from Sanskrit and translates to “yogic sleep” or “psychic sleep”, as it is performed lying down in corpse pose (shavasana). A typical session lasts around 45 minutes and follows a structured eight-stage approach. The benefits of practicing yoga nidra are profound and include:

  1. Reaching a profound state of relaxation
  2. Developing a deeper sense of self-awareness
  3. Stimulating the release of the stress-reducing hormone melatonin
  4. Improving the immune system’s response to illness
  5. Enhancing mental focus and cognitive function

Although yoga nidra shares some similarities with meditation, it goes deeper into the psyche to access the realm of yogic sleep.

What Happens During Yoga Nidra?

Yoga nidra has been practiced for centuries and its benefits have been experienced by countless practitioners. Recent research has begun to shed light on what happens during yoga nidra and how it benefits the mind. Here are some highlights:

  1. Yoga nidra suppresses the body’s “fight or flight” response and fosters a sense of calm by stimulating the parasympathetic nervous system.
  2. By accessing delta brainwaves, yoga nidra allows practitioners to tap into the restorative power normally found during deep sleep.
  3. Yoga nidra can trigger the release of the hormone melatonin, which helps regulate the sleep and wake cycle.
  4. Regular practice of yoga nidra has been found to significantly reduce stress and anxiety.

While research into the benefits of yoga nidra continues, the evidence suggests that it may have even more significant benefits for mental health than meditation.

The 8 Stages of Yoga Nidra

Yoga nidra is a step-by-step process that involves eight distinct stages. Each stage builds upon the previous one to help you reach a profound state of relaxation and heightened self-awareness. Here is a closer look at what happens during each of the eight stages:

  1. Positioning: The first stage of yoga nidra involves getting into the proper physical position. This means lying down in shavasana, or the corpse pose. Lying down in this manner ensures that your body is fully relaxed, which in turn helps your mind to relax as well.
  2. Mental Affirmation: The Sankalpa: In the second stage, you will perform a mental affirmation known as a sankalpa. This is a personal mantra or decree that you repeat in your mind to help unlock the passive state of consciousness necessary for yoga nidra.
  3. Bodily Visualization: The third stage involves a mental exercise in which you visualize each part of your body. Starting with the right side, you visualize your fingers and toes, and then move to the left side. The back and front of the body are then visualized, leading to increased awareness of the entire body.
  4. Breathwork: Proper breathing techniques are important in yoga nidra. In this stage, you will focus on counting breaths and being aware of the breath as it is drawn in and let out through the nostrils. Conscious breathwork should also involve the throat, chest, and abdomen.
  5. Sensory Consciousness: The fifth stage of yoga nidra involves an association exercise where sensory experiences are linked to mental or physical stimuli. You may focus on the extremes such as hot and cold, dry and wet, light and heavy, and so on.
  6. Visualizing the Chidakasha: In the sixth stage, you will visualize the chidakasha, which is the dark space that lies in front of your eyes when your eyelids are closed. You are encouraged to visualize a vibrant scene within this space.
  7. Revisiting the Sankalpa: In the seventh stage, you will recall the sankalpa that you recited in stage two and repeat it three more times.
  8. Returning to Your Surroundings: The final stage of yoga nidra involves slowly reacclimating yourself to your surroundings. It is like awakening from a deep, restful slumber, and you will likely feel refreshed and invigorated.

By following the eight stages of yoga nidra, you can experience a profound sense of relaxation, increased self-awareness, and other benefits for your mental and physical well-being.

Where can I learn more about Yoga Nidra?

There are many resources available to learn more about Yoga Nidra. Here are a few options to get started:

  1. Yoga studios: Many yoga studios offer classes or workshops on Yoga Nidra. Check your local studio or online for classes.
  2. Books: There are several books on Yoga Nidra, including “Yoga Nidra: The Art of Transformational Sleep” by Kamini Desai, “Yoga Nidra: A Meditative Practice for Deep Relaxation and Healing” by Richard Miller, and “Yoga Nidra: The Yoga of Transformation” by Swami Satyananda Saraswati.
  3. Online resources: There are many online resources available on Yoga Nidra, including guided meditations, articles, and videos. Some websites to check out include Yoga Journal, Gaia, and Yoga International.
  4. Yoga Nidra teacher trainings: If you are interested in becoming a certified Yoga Nidra teacher, there are several teacher training programs available. Check with your local yoga studio or search online for programs.
  5. Apps: There are also several apps available for guided Yoga Nidra meditations, such as Insight Timer and Yoga Nidra Meditation.

In Conclusion

In conclusion, the practice of yoga nidra offers a structured approach to achieving a state of deep relaxation and self-awareness. The eight stages of yoga nidra, from positioning and sankalpa to returning to your surroundings, provide a roadmap for practitioners to follow in order to reap the benefits of this ancient practice.

By incorporating breathing techniques, visualization exercises, and sensory consciousness, yoga nidra enables practitioners to access the restorative power of delta brainwaves and trigger the release of the hormone melatonin, which can help regulate the body’s sleep and wake cycles.

With continued practice, yoga nidra has the potential to yield profound effects on mental well-being and reduce stress and anxiety. Whether you are a beginner or an experienced yogi, learning about and incorporating the eight stages of yoga nidra into your practice can help you achieve a greater sense of relaxation, self-awareness, and overall well-being.

Caleb Sharbono is a writer, bio-hacker, wellness advocate, and yogi. Caleb, who grew up on a small Montana ranch, joined the Navy at 17 to study cryptology. He later graduated from the US Naval Academy with a Minor in Mandarin, a Bachelor's in General Engineering, and a Major in English Literature. Caleb's interests and career cover diverse industries and disciplines. Caleb lives in San Antonio and is a Certified Yoga Instructor. He is also studying Zen Buddhism, practicing Holistic Psychology, and working towards his 300-hour yoga teacher training.


Online Yoga Planet

Subscribe to the Online Yoga Planet email list for exclusive access to curated content and special offers.